Mining Executive Helped Launch New UA Center

Oct. 21, 2015

When the instructor for one of his first-year law courses invited students to attend an institute on mineral law offered by a local foundation, Charles Jeannes jumped at the chance.

At the end of the year, the same instructor, Desmond Kearns, was leaving the University of Arizona James E. Rogers College of Law to take a position with British Petroleum’s U.S. minerals company, and he arranged for Jeannes to spend the summer with the company as a law clerk.

Thus was born an influential career, and a longtime friendship.

After practicing as a successful and influential mining lawyer for many years, Jeannes moved into mining administration. Since 2008, he has been CEO of Goldcorp, one of the world's largest gold mining companies by market value. Under his leadership, Goldcorp has not only prospered but also published industry-leading policies on topics such as corporate social responsibility, human rights, sustainability, and occupational health and safety.

In recent years, Jeannes has generously given his time and resources to helping the law college establish the Arizona Law Global Mining Center, designed to be the nation's leading center for mining law and policy. Jeannes and his wife have made major, multiyear gift pledges, and he also has promoted support from the global mining industry. His generosity, leadership and knowledge have been instrumental in advancing the center.

For his distinguished career and his dedication to the college and the Arizona Law Global Mining Center, the James E. Rogers College of Law is honoring Jeannes as its 2015 Alumnus of the Year.

The others receiving Alumni of the Year awards at Homecoming are:

Arlan Colton, College of Architecture, Planning & Landscape Architecture

Dr. Francisco Garcia, College of Medicine

Kevin Thompson, College of Optical Sciences

Brandy Christian, College of Humanities

Jeffrey Younggren, College of Science

Kurt DelBene, College of Engineering

Steven Lynn, College of Social and Behavioral Sciences

Craig Huston, College of Fine Arts

Harlan Wand, College of Pharmacy

Walter Jacobson, College of Education

Heather Lenkin, Honors College

Rebecca Kuhn, College of Nursing

Jane Strain, UA South

Teresa Briggs, Eller College of Management

The UA Alumni Association will honor all recipients of the 2015 Alumni of the Year Awards during an Oct. 23 event to be held 3-5 p.m. in the Grand Ballroom of the Student Union Memorial Center. For more information, contact the Alumni Association at 520-621-7576.