Oct. 12, 2016
UA researcher Adam Buntzman is merging computer science and immunology to improve cancer diagnostics by up to 100 times the accuracy of conventional tests.
From left: Postdoctoral researcher Haokun Deng, associate professor of civil engineering and engineering mechanics Katerina Aifantis, and mechanical engineering undergraduates Fabian Medina and Andrew Barr prepare materials for electron microscopy in the lab.
Sept. 26, 2016
Katerina Aifantis, who became the Netherlands' youngest-ever recipient of a doctorate in applied physics at age 21, is investigating how metallic solids break down at the atomic level.
Aug. 10, 2016
For many UA faculty and staff, it's the season for turning the page. The complexity of family trees, teachings on leadership and style, and explorations of race relations are among the themes of books they have read (and re-read) in recent weeks. They were happy to share what they learned.
Often, great inventions start in ideas noted in University researchers' lab notebooks. (Photo: Paul Tumarkin/Tech Launch Arizona)
Aug. 2, 2016
Tech Launch Arizona has completed its third full year of operation, surpassing all of its established performance metrics. For fiscal 2016, the UA's commercialization arm reported 250 invention disclosures, 278 patents filed and 14 startup companies. Tech Parks Arizona also had a banner year.
"Human Programming: Brainwashing, Automatons and American Unfreedom" by UA assistant professor Scott Selisker was published Aug. 1.
Aug. 1, 2016
The UA's Scott Selisker discusses how decades of cultural and sociological influences shape the ways people think — and the possible implications for an election year.
June 16, 2016
Six experts from the University can offer comment and perspective on various aspects of the recent tragedy in Orlando, Florida.
A researcher prepares to deploy a robotic float into the Southern Ocean, the water body surrounding Antarctica. The floats are lowered over the side of the vessel on a rope and slide off the rope once in the water. (Photo: Hannah Zanowski)
June 8, 2016
With the help of the UA-led national data management project CyVerse, three agencies are funding a study of the Earth's climate with robotic floats and supercomputers.
A black hole 4 million times more massive than our sun, called Sagittarius A* and pictured here in an artist's impression, is at the center of our Milky Way. (Image: NASA)
June 1, 2016
The astronomy professor has been awarded a Radcliffe Institute fellowship to explore the edges of known physics and exchange ideas with scientists, artists and filmmakers.
"You need to be engaged in what you are making so that you can engage an audience," Audra Graziano says. (Photo: Bob Demers/UANews)
June 1, 2016
The visiting assistant professor in the UA School of Art trains students in form and concept development, then encourages them to go their own way. With UANews video.