AAFSAA Announces Award Winners

Sept. 22, 1999

The UA Asian American Faculty, Staff & Alumni Association (AAFSAA) is accepting nominations for its 1999 Faculty Awards. Members of the campus community can nominate individuals from among the University's faculty and staff of Asian heritage and descent who have contributed exemplary teaching, research, scholarship and public service through meritorious accomplishments.

AAFSAA will host its 10th Annual Scholarship Banquet on Saturday, Oct. 2, at the Dragon's View Restaurant in Tucson. The outstanding faculty, staff and alumni will be honored along with student scholars and community leaders at the banquet. The complete criteria can be read under "Briefs" in LQP On Line.

Faculty Award winners in 1998 were: Christopher Choi, agriculture professor; Kamakshi Murti, humanities professor; and Yingyong Qi, science professor. Staff Awardees honored were: Douglas Pham, Admissions and New Student Enrollment; and Aktar Parvez, Financial Aid Office.
All nominations and accompanying resumes must be submitted by Wednesday, Aug. 11. Contact Lori Tochihara at 626-2321 or e-mail lorit@arizona.edu or Ted Tong at 626-1587 tong@pharmacy.arizona.edu for information.