Awards and Accolades

ADDY award winners, a book prize finalist and APAC scholarship winners are among UA employees earning honors and awards recently.
Feb. 29, 2012

Congratulations to the following UA employees who have recently received honors in their respective fields:

The UA Student Affairs Marketing team won six Gold ADDY awards at the American Advertising Federation-Tucson's Feb. 18 gala. Team members who were cited for working on the winning projects were Misha Harrison, Jenny Wendt, Sam Wang, Jessica DeWitt, Jason Steed, Jaime Masson, Robin Meeks, Jeff Lowry, Seth Norris, Ben Oman, Stephanie Csongor, Ben Montemayor, Stephanie Cunningham, Kacy Navarrette and Kyle Oman. The winning projects were the UA Orientation Calendar, the Arizona Mobile app, mobile app interactive media, the "Be a Wildcat" interactive site, "Commuter Appreciation" interactive media and interactive media for Gallagher Theater. The team won a silver ADDY award for its Campus Recreation mural and three bronze ADDY awards as well, for a total of 10 awards.

UApresents earned a silver ADDY award the same night for its 2011-2012 season brochure.

UA history professor Benjamin H. Irvin is a finalist for the $50,000 2012 George Washington Book Prize. Washington College announced last week that Irvin earned the honor with his book "Clothed in Robes of Sovereignty: The Continental Congress and the People Out of Doors," published by Oxford University Press. The prize – which is co-sponsored by Washington College, the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History and George Washington’s Mount Vernon estate – recognizes the past year’s best books on the nation’s founding era, especially those that have the potential to advance broad public understanding of American history. The jury, which reviewed about 50 nominated books, praised "Clothed in Robes of Sovereignty" as a "well-researched and imaginatively conceived work" that "provides a lively narrative and a fascinating window onto the relationship between America’s political leaders in the Congress and the people." The winner will be announced June 4.

The Appointed Professionals Advisory Council has named its 2012 Professional Development Scholarship winners. They are Adrienne Gauthier, instructional technologist in the Department of Astronomy; Elik Essif, building/facilities manager at the UA Cancer Center; R. Scott Johnson, director of academic advising and student services in the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences; Benjamin Slane, physician in Radiation Oncology; Verlaine Walker, senior academic adviser and pre-law coordinator in the Center for Exploratory Students; Gretchen Gibbs, senior consultant for instructional design and technologies in the Office of Instruction and Assessment, and Lisa Adele, outreach coordinator in the Center for Middle Eastern Studies. The APAC Professional Development Scholarship was established to provide monetary support to appointed personnel at the UA for professional development activities including workshops, training, conferences, UA courses, community college classes or similar opportunities benefiting the awardee in his or her career at the UA. The maximum amount awarded each recipient is $500.

Lo Que Pasa wants to know about your good news. If you, your department or a colleague have won any major awards, been honored nationally or internationally or accomplished some other feat that deserves recognition, we'd like to know about it.

To submit your news, please send us an email with the following information:

  • Name of person or team receiving the honor.
  • Name of organization granting the honor.
  • A description of the honor.
  • When the honor was announced and when it is to be received (or was received).
  • A photo of the honoree. If others appear in the photo, we'll need their names and affiliations.

Questions? Please contact Shelley Shelton at 626-4407 or