Criner, Reed Earn Top All-Pac-10 Nods

The two first-team picks are the first for the UA since 2008. The Wildcats, 7-5, are bound for the Valero Alamo Bowl scheduled for Wednesday, Dec. 29.
Dec. 8, 2010
Juron Criner
Juron Criner

Arizona senior defensive end Brooks Reed and junior receiver Juron Criner have received first-team All-Pac-10 football honors.

Senior center Colin Baxter, graduate tackle Adam Grant and senior defensive end Ricky Elmore received second-team honors for the Wildcats, 7-5 and bound for the Valero Alamo Bowl in Arizona's third consecutive bowl appearance.

Four Wildcat juniors earned honorable mention honors – linebacker Paul Vassallo, quarterback Nick Foles, receiver David Douglas and running back Keola Antolin.

The two first-team picks are the first for the UA since 2008. Baxter and Grant repeated from last year as second-team honorees, while Elmore and Foles were 2009 honorable mention selections.

Chip Kelly of Oregon was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year, quarterback Andrew Luck of Stanford was Offensive Player of the Year, defensive tackle Stephen Paea of Oregon State was Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year, receiver Robert Woods of USC earned Offensive Freshman of the Year honors and the Defensive Freshman of the Year was tackle Junior Onyeali of Arizona State.

The UA will play No. 16 Oklahoma State (10-2) in the Valero Alamo Bowl on Wednesday, Dec. 29, in San Antonio. Tickets may be purchased online here.

The Wildcats will practice in Tucson starting Friday and will depart for San Antonio on Christmas Eve. It's the UA's third bowl trip in succession, following the 2008 Las Vegas Bowl and the 2009 Holiday Bowl. The UA's previous three-year bowl streak was from 1992 to 1994.

Baxter was named a finalist for the Rimington Trophy, the nation's top honor for a collegiate center.