J. Lyle Bootman Appointed UA Senior Vice President for Health Sciences, Effective Sept. 5

Bootman, who has served as dean of the UA College of Pharmacy since 1987, is a professor of pharmacy, medicine and public health and a fellow of several professional associations. He will replace Dr. William M. Crist, who plans to retire.
Aug. 10, 2011
J. Lyle Bootman
J. Lyle Bootman

J. Lyle Bootman, longtime dean of the University of Arizona College of Pharmacy, an internationally noted expert in health outcomes and medication errors and a member of the prestigious Institute of Medicine, has been appointed UA senior vice president for health sciences, effective Sept. 5.

The appointment was announced by UA President Eugene G. Sander.

Following a short transition period, during which Bootman is serving as "senior vice president - designate," he will replace Dr. William M. Crist, who plans to retire after serving as UA vice president for health affairs since October 2008. During the transition, the two administrators will work closely together.

As senior vice president, Bootman will supervise the deans of the colleges at the Arizona Health Sciences Center: the UA College of Medicine (Tucson and Phoenix campuses); the UA College of Pharmacy; the UA College of Nursing; and the UA Mel and Enid Zuckerman College of Public Health. He will work closely with UA officials, alumni, health-care organizations, the Arizona Board of Regents, the Arizona Congressional delegation, state legislators, foundations, private corporations and others to develop and execute strategic priorities for AHSC's academic units.

"Lyle Bootman is an internationally respected health-care leader, scholar, educator and administrator," Sander said.

"His vast experience and accomplishments in the health-care arena will serve the University of Arizona and its health sciences colleges extremely well. He is the perfect individual to fill this important position during a time of transition at our University. At the same time, I want to express sincere appreciation to Bill Crist for his dedicated statewide efforts to build and promote the Arizona Health Sciences Center. Bill played a strong role in the growth at the College of Medicine-Phoenix campus, the integration of University Medical Center and University Physicians Healthcare, the development of the Kino Campus and many other achievements."

Bootman said, "I look forward to working with the other health sciences deans and the faculty and staff of the Arizona Health Sciences Center to reach our potential as a leading academic health center. We plan to marshal our creativity, skills and resources to keep improving our services and programs for the benefit of Arizona and beyond."

Bootman, who has served as dean of the UA College of Pharmacy since 1987, is professor of pharmacy, medicine and public health and a fellow of several professional associations, including the American Pharmacists Association, the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists and the American College of Apothecaries.

He is founding and executive director of the UA Center for Health Outcomes and PharmacoEconomic Research, one of the first such centers in the world. He also is a founding director and board member of the Healthcare Transformation Institute and president-elect of the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

Author of more than 285 research articles, books and monographs, Bootman has been an invited speaker at more than 600 professional health-care meetings and symposia. He was selected as one of the 50 most influential pharmacists in the nation by American Druggist and has received numerous outstanding scientific achievement awards, most notably from the American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists and the Academy of Pharmaceutical Science and Research for his pioneering research in the field of pharmacoeconomics and health outcomes.

He has published several books, including the first textbook introducing the Principles of Pharmacoeconomics, which is used in more than 40 nations and has been translated in seven languages.

Bootman is an elected member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies, where he served on the Board of Health Care Services for seven years and was co-chair of the IOM committee that released the highly publicized report, "Preventing Medication Errors."

He serves as an adviser to leading pharmaceutical companies, universities and health-care organizations throughout the world. Currently, he serves on several prestigious boards, including The Critical Path Institute, Research Corporation Technologies, CMR Institute, First Databank and Madeira Therapeutics.

Bootman has received numerous honors and awards. He was the recipient of the George Archambault Award, the highest honor given by the American Society of Consultant Pharmacists; the Latiolais Honor Medal, the highest honor in managed health care by the Pharmaceutical Care Management Association; and the Hugo H. Schaefer Award, which recognizes outstanding lifetime contributions to the organization, the profession and to society, given by the American Pharmacists Association.

In 2008 he was recognized with the Joseph P. Remington Honor Medal, the highest honor given by the profession of pharmacy to recognize distinguished service and lifetime contributions.
He received his pharmacy education at the UA and his doctorate at the University of Minnesota, where he was given the "Outstanding Achievement Award," the university's highest alumni honor. He completed a clinical pharmacy residency at the National Institutes of Health and received honorary doctorates from the University of the Sciences in Philadelphia and The Ohio State University.