UA Foundation Elects New Board Members

June 30, 1999

Seven business and community leaders were elected to the University of Arizona Foundation Board of Directors earlier this month. The 41-year old Foundation is a private, non-profit corporation which raises funds, manages assets and facilitates projects for the benefit of the UA. The UA Foundation is the largest university foundation in the state, with an asset base of more than $218 million. Foundation President Richard F. Imwalle is pleased to welcome seven new members who will serve a three-year term and join a group of 45 business and community leaders from throughout the state of Arizona:
Lowell M. Berry, Jr., retired president, Creative Leather Manufacturing and Furniture Co.
Stanley G. Feldman, justice, Arizona Supreme Court
Neal Kurn, director, Fennemore Craig, P.C. (Phoenix)
Humberto S. Lopez, president, HSL Properties
Bettina Lyons, community volunteer
David A. McEvoy, attorney, McEvoy, Daniels and Darcy
Michael S. Milroy, managing partner, Snell & Wilmer, L.L.P.

Other members of the UA Foundation board are from Tucson unless otherwise
Chair of the Board: C. Donald Hatfield, editor and publisher, Tucson Citizen
Vice Chair of the Board and Chair Elect: Burton J. Kinerk, attorney, Kinerk, Beal, Schmidt, & Dyer, PC
Secretary: Ray Clarke, president and CEO, Tucson Urban League
Treasurer: J. Michael Sarikas, managing partner, Catalina Foothills Estates Partnerships, Murphy Investment Trust
President: Richard F. Imwalle
Vice President, Finance and Administration: Gary N. Scrivner
Vice President, Development Operation: S. James Manilla
Vice President, Planned Giving/Donor Relations: Ken R. Dildine
Vice President, Communications and Public Affairs: Dana L. Wier

Dr. Luis Aguilar, physician
Lawrence J. Aldrich, president, Tucson Newspapers Inc.
Paul Baker, president, The Enterprise Group
Craig Berge, president and owner, Berge Ford
Janet Bingham, UA vice president, University Advancement
Gary Cropper, president and owner, Cropper Automotive Group (Casa Grande and Nogales)
Dr. James E. Dalen, UA vice president for health sciences and dean of the College of Medicine
Philip A. Edlund, director, The Lyle Anderson Inc. (Scottsdale)
Stevie Eller, community volunteer (Phoenix)
Lesley G. Goldfarb, community volunteer
Michael W. Hard, executive officer for southern Arizona, Bank One Arizona
Robert F. Ingold, Jr., president and owner, Sun River Distributing Co.
Olden Lee, retired vice president of human resources, Taco Bell Corporation
Peter Likins, UA president
Nancy C. Loftin, vice president, chief legal counsel and secretary, Arizona Public Service
Linda K. Lohse, president, Vance Foundation and community volunteer
John E. Miller, Jr., vice president/senior financial consultant, Merrill Lynch Private Client Group (Scottsdale)
Kathryn L. Munro, community volunteer
James M. Sakrison, partner, Slutes, Sakrison, Grant, Hill & Rubin P.C.
Ralph Silberschlag, vice president, Merrill Lynch
Richard H. Silverman, general manger, Salt River Project (Phoenix)
Dee Simpson, retired vice president, Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith Inc.
Paul S. Sypherd, UA provost
Louise M. Thomas, president, Events Made Special Inc.
Joel Valdez, UA senior vice president for business affairs
Melvin Zuckerman, founder and CEO, Canyon Ranch Health Resort

Directors Emeriti:
Fred Boice, owner, Boice Financial Company
Jack D. Davis, retired vice chair, Valley National Bank
J. Luther Davis, retired chair, Tucson Electric Power
Darryl B. Dobras, president, DBD Investments Inc.
Roy Drachman, realtor, Roy P. Drachman Realty
Peter Kiewit Jr., counsel, Gallagher and Kennedy
James F. Morrow, attorney, Streich Lang
Mary Margaret Raymond, community volunteer
Helen Schaefer, community volunteer
Donald N. Soldwedel, chair of the board, Western Newspapers Inc. (Yuma)