Year in Review 1999: College of Law Honors School's Largest Benefactor

Dec. 2, 1999

This year the law school was officially renamed the James E. Rogers College of Law in honor of the school's alum and largest private benefactor. Rogers has pledged a combined total of more than $100 million to the law school. His contributions have helped make possible to purchase and renovate another building that was dedicated in February and is now the home of the law school's four legal clinics that provide specialized law services to members of the general public. The building, named Rogers Rountree Hall, bears the names of Rogers and alum George Rountree whose generosity was also a major factor in the acquisition of this much-needed additional space. Justice Sandra Day O'Connor of the U.S. Supreme Court and Chief Justice Thomas Zlaket of the Arizona Supreme Court were among the speakers at the dedication ceremony.

In May, Toni M. Massaro was named the new dean of the college, becoming the first woman to hold that post at the UA law school. She has been a member of the law faculty since 1989 and has occupied the Milton O. Riepe Chair in Constitutional Law since 1997, teaching in the areas of civil procedure, research and writing, Constitutional law, public education and the Constitution. Her predecessor, Joel Seligman, announced last year that he would be stepping down for family reasons.

May graduates of the college heard U.S. Senator from Arizona and current presidential candidate John McCain speak at the law school's commencement ceremonies.

In November, the law school tackled major issues concerning the roles science and law will play in environmental restoration when it hosted "Environmental Restoration: Challenges for the New Millennium," a conference that brought together nationally recognized speakers from the fields of history, hydrology, ethics, biology, ecology, philosophy, environmental policy, public administration, economics and law